Awards Time for Irving PTO

At the February 19, 2015 Park Board meeting, the Irving School Parent/Teacher Organization, the Ridgeland Common Working Group and Dan Jordan were the recipients of Community Service Awards from the Park District of Oak Park in coordination with the Illinois Park And Recreation Association and the Illinois Association of Park Districts. Community Service Awards are presented annually to individuals and organizations in recognition and appreciation of their outstanding contribution and unselfish devotion for the advancement of parks, recreation and leisure in the community and the state of Illinois.

The Irving School PTO led a Village-wide effort to bring a new U10 synthetic turf soccer field to the school through fundraising efforts and developing partnerships with the Park District, School District 97, Oak Park AYSO and Chicago Edge. Current and former Irving PTO members recognized include Laura Crawford, Margaret Jeschke, Jassen Strokosch, Barbara Hoffman, Barbara Metric, Juliane Kelly, Michelle Chapman-Rienstra, and Reshma Desai, Claudette Bravo, Tom Bassett-Dilley, and everyone on the Design and Planning Committee.  Also on hand to accept the award were John Hodge, Principal, and current PTO Co-President, Lori McConnell.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s